Academic Calendar

Key
Holidays
Faculty Deadlines
Financial Aid Deadlines

Spring 2017

January 9 – April 29, 2017

Date Event
September 30 Friday First day to apply for Spring 2017 term graduation
October 21 Friday Class schedule available to all returning undergraduate and graduate students for Spring 2017 term
Nov 1 – Dec 6 Tuesday – Tuesday Official registration for degree-seeking students by assigned registration time and day
Dec 7 – Jan 8 Wednesday – Sunday Open registration for degree-seeking students
December 22-24 Thursday- Saturday Winter Break 1 (No Classes)
December 26 Monday Christmas Day (Observed)
December 31 Saturday Winter Break 2 (No Classes)
January 2 Monday New Years day (Observed)
January 5 Thursday Non-degree seeking student registration begins
January 8 Sunday Last day to register without incurring a $100 Late Registration Fee
January 9 Monday Classes begin
January 9 Monday Short Term Tuition Loan Applications available
January 13 Friday Last day to submit Non-degree Application for Spring 2017 term
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King Holiday (University Closed)
January 17 Tuesday Last day to change grading option
Last day to add courses; last day to drop courses or withdraw from the University without incurring financial liability for tuition and fees
January 18 Wednesday Spring Semester Payment Due Date
January 18 Wednesday Last day for students to apply for a Short Term Loan
January 19 Thursday $100 late payment fee assessed for outstanding balances
January 20 Friday Cancellation of Enrollment for unpaid Tuition and Fee balances not covered by Payment Plan, Scholarships or other awards
January 23 – 27 Monday – Friday Reinstatement for Cancellation after non-payment
February 3 Friday Last day to apply for Spring 2017 graduation
Last day to withdraw from the University with a 25% refund of tuition
March 11 Friday Return of Title IV deadline for financial aid recipients
March 13 – 18 Monday – Saturday Spring Break (University Open, No Classes)
March 20 Monday Last day to drop a course with a DR grade
Last day to withdraw from the University with a WI grade
April 24 – April 29 Monday – Saturday Final week of the semester – modified class schedule: Final exams and other course assessment activities are scheduled during this week
April 29 Saturday On-campus exams for online courses
TBA Commencement Exercises – Please refer to https://commencement.fiu.edu/
May 3 Wednesday Deadline (by 11:59 pm) for faculty to submit grades
May 4 Thursday Complete grade report available to students by web

Summer Term “A” 2017

May 8 – June 16, 2017

Date Event
February 10 Friday First day to apply for Summer 2017 term graduation
March 13 Monday Class schedule available to all returning undergraduate and graduate students for Summer & Fall 2017 term
March 27 – April 30 Monday – Sunday Official registration for degree-seeking students by assigned registration time and day
May 1 – May 7 Monday – Sunday Open registration for degree-seeking students
May 4 Thursday Non-degree seeking student registration begins
May 7 Sunday Last day to register without incurring a $100 Late Registration Fee
May 8 Monday Classes begin
May 8 Monday Short Term Tuition Loan Applications available
May 12 Friday Last day to submit Non-degree Application for Summer A & C 2017 term
May 15 Monday Last day to add courses; last day to drop courses or withdraw from the University without incurring financial liability for tuition and fees
Last day to change grading option
May 16 Tuesday Summer Semester Payment Due Date
May 16 Tuesday Last day for students to apply for a Short Term Loan
May 17 Wednesday $100 late payment fee assessed for outstanding balances
May 19 Friday Cancellation of Enrollment for unpaid Tuition and Fee balances not covered by Payment Plan, Scholarships or other awards
May 19 Friday Last day to apply for graduation at the end of Summer 2017 term
May 22 – 26 Monday – Friday Reinstatement after Cancellation for non-payment
May 22 Monday Last day to withdraw from the University with a 25% refund of tuition
May 29 Monday Memorial Day Holiday (University Closed)
June 1 Thursday Return of Title IV Deadline for Financial Aid Recipients for Summer “A” Term
June 5 Monday Last day to drop a course with a DR grade
Last day to withdraw from the University with a WI grade
June 5 Monday Last day to drop a course with a DR grade
Last day to withdraw from the University with a WI grade
June 16 Friday Classes end
On-campus exams for online courses
June 21 Wednesday Deadline (by 11:59 pm) for faculty to submit grades
June 22 Thursday Grade report for Summer Term A available to students by web
TBA Commencement Exercises – Please refer to https://commencement.fiu.edu/

Summer Term “B” 2017

June 19 – July 28, 2017

Date Event
March 13 Monday Class schedule available to all returning undergraduate and graduate students for Summer & Fall 2017 term
March 27 – April 30 Monday – Sunday Official registration for degree-seeking students by assigned registration time and day
May 1 – May 7 Monday – Sunday Open registration for degree-seeking students
May 4 Thursday Non-degree students can register for Summer B courses
May 19 Friday Last day to apply for graduation at the end of Summer 2017 term
June 18 Sunday Last day to register without incurring a $100 Late Registration Fee
June 19 Monday Classes begin
June 19 Monday Short Term Tuition Loan Applications available
June 23 Friday Last day to submit Non-degree Application for Summer B 2017 session
June 26 Monday Last day to add courses; last day to drop courses or withdraw from the University without incurring financial liability for Tuition and Fees
Last day to change grading option
June 27 Tuesday Summer semester Payment Due Date
June 27 Tuesday Last day for students to apply for a Short Term Loan
June 28 Wednesday $100 Late Payment Fee assessed for outstanding balances
July 4 Tuesday In observation of Independence Day (University Closed)
July 5 Wednesday Last day to withdraw from the University with a 25% refund of tuition
July 13 Thursday Return of Title IV Deadline for Financial Aid Recipients for Summer “B” Term
July 17 Monday Last day to drop a course with a DR grade
Last day to withdraw from the University with a WI grade
July 28 Friday Classes end
On-campus exams for online courses
TBA Commencement Exercises – Please refer to https://commencement.fiu.edu/
August 2 Wednesday Deadline (by 11:59 pm) for faculty to submit grades
August 3 Thursday Complete grade report available to students by web

Summer Term “C” 2017

May 8 – July 28, 2017

Date Event
February 10 Friday First day to apply for Summer 2017 term graduation
March 13 Monday Class schedule available to all returning undergraduate and graduate students for Summer & Fall 2017 term
March 27 – April 30 Monday – Sunday Official registration for degree-seeking students by assigned registration time and day
May 1 – May 7 Monday – Sunday Open registration for degree-seeking students
TBA Low enrollment courses will be cancelled and students notified by email
May 4 Thursday Non-Degree seeking student registration begins
May 7 Sunday Last day to register without incurring a $100 Late Registration Fee
May 8 Monday Classes begin
May 8 Monday Short Term Tuition Loan Applications available
May 12 Friday Last day to submit Non-degree Application for Summer A/C 2017 term
May 15 Monday Last day to add courses; last day to drop courses of withdraw from the University without incurring financial liability for Tuition and Fees
Last day to change grading option
May 16 Tuesday Summer Semester Payment Due Date
May 16 Tuesday Last day for students to apply for a Short Term Loan
May 17 Wednesday $100 Late Payment Fee assessed for outstanding balances
May 19 Friday Cancellation of Enrollment for unpaid Tuition and Fee balances not covered by Payment Plan, Scholarships, or other awards
May 19 Friday Last day to apply for Summer 2017 graduation
May 22 – 26 Monday – Friday Reinstatement after Cancellation for non-payment
May 29 Monday Memorial Day Holiday (University Closed)
June 16 Friday Last day to withdraw from the University with a 25% refund of tuition
June 26 Monday Return of Title IV Deadline for Financial Aid Recipients for Summer “C” Term
June 26 Monday Last day to drop a course with a DR grade
Last day to withdraw from the University with a WI grade
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day (University closed)
July 28 Friday Classes end
On-campus exams for online courses
TBA Commencement Exercises – Please refer to https://commencement.fiu.edu/
August 2 Wednesday Deadline (by 11:59 pm) for faculty to submit grades
August 3 Thursday Complete grade report available to students by web
August 21 Monday (Fall 2017) Fall 2017 semester classes begin

**Grades will be posted on transcripts however, graduation will not be processed until the end of the Complete Summer C Term.

Calendar dates are subject to change. Please contact appropriate offices for verification and updates. This calendar includes official University holidays. Faculty are encouraged to make accommodations for students who wish to observe religious holidays Students should make their requests known to the instructor at the beginning of the semester.

For a listing of religious holidays you may visit http://www.interfaithcalendar.org

Fall 2017

August 21 – December 9, 2017

Date Event
March 13 Monday Class schedule available to all returning undergraduate and graduate students for Summer 2017 and Fall 2017 term
March 27 – April 29 Monday – Saturday Official Registration for Summer & Fall Degree-Seeking Students only, by assigned registration time and day. Priority registration available on http://my.fiu.edu
April 26 – August 20 Wednesday – Sunday Summer and Fall open Registration for Degree-Seeking Students
May 29 Monday First day to apply for Fall term graduation 2017
July 4 Tuesday University Closed in observance of Independence Day
August 17 Thursday Non-degree seeking student registration begins
August 18 Friday New Faculty Orientation Day
August 20 Sunday Last day to register without incurring a $100 Late Registration Fee
August 20 Sunday Freshman Convocation (Required of All Freshmen)
August 21 Monday Classes begin
August 21 Monday Short Term Tuition Loan Applications available
August 25 Friday Last day to submit Non-degree application for Fall 2017 term
August 28 Monday Last day to add courses; last day to drop courses or withdraw from the University without incurring financial liability for Tuition and Fees
Last day to change a grading option
August 29 Tuesday Fall semester Payment Due Date
August 29 Tuesday Last day for students to apply for a Short Term Loan
August 30 Wednesday $100 late payment fee assessed for outstanding balances
Septermber 1 Friday Cancellation of Enrollment for unpaid Tuition and Fee balances not covered by Payment Plan, Scholarships or other awards
September 4 Monday Labor Day Holiday (University Closed)
September 5-8 Tuesday-Friday Reinstatemeent after Cancellation for non-payment
September 15 Friday Last day to apply for Fall 2017 graduation
Last day to withdraw from the University with a 25% refund of Tuition
TBD Faculty Convocation
October 26 Thursday Return of Title IV deadline for financial aid recipients
October 30 Monday Deadline to drop a course with a DR grade
Deadline to withdraw from the University with a WI grade
November 10 Friday Veterans Day Holiday (University Closed)
November 23 & 24 Thurs & Friday Thanksgiving Holiday (University Closed)
November 25 Saturday No Saturday Classes
December 4-9 Monday- Saturday Final week of the semester – modified class schedule: Final exams and other course assessment activities are scheduled during this week
December 9 Saturday On-campus exams for online courses
December TBA Commencement Exercises – Please refer to https://commencement.fiu.edu/
December 13 Wednesday Deadline (by 11:59 pm) for faculty to submit grades
December 14 Thursday Complete grade report available to students by web
December 22-23 Friday & Saturday Winter Break 1 (No Classes)
December 25 Monday Christmas Day
December 26 Tuesday Winter Break 2 (No Classes)
January 1 Monday New Years day (Observed)

Fall “Mini” 2017

December 11, 2017 – January 3, 2018

Date Event
October 23 Monday Registration by appointment only
December 10 Sunday Last day to register without a $100 Late Registration Fee
December 11 Monday First day of classes
December 14 Thursday ast day to add/drop courses without financial liability for tuition and fees:
Please refer to onestop.fiu.edu for updates.
December 14 Thursday Last day to pay without incurring a $100 late payment fee
December 18 Monday $100 late payment fee assessed (payment plan is not available)
December 21 Thursday Last day to drop with DR grade (tuition and fees liable)
December 22-23 Friday & Saturday Winter Break 1 (No Classes)
December 25 Monday Christmas Day
December 26 Tuesday Winter Break 2 (No Classes)
January 1 Monday New Years day (Observed)
January 3 Wednesday Last day of classes
January 5 Friday Grades viewable to students via their My.FIU.edu

Updated: 3/17/2017